New Cameras: First Test

I developed my film and got some OK results. I am not posting much here because many are personal family photos as well as most just did not come out too well. The Beirette VSN did ok but its focusing is not quite on and I do not think the optics are too great either. Despite having to guess how far something was and then adjusting the focus based on that some shots I measures out and still the focus was pretty off. The best shots seemed to be of things further away to where the focus was set to infinity. I’m going to shoot another roll and see what I get.

Image
Beirette VSN: Seems to do best when focused to infinity.

The Halina 35 on the other hand came out much better. Its fixed focus so it’s all about setting the aperture to the amount of light one has. Sunlight and all I shot everything in the flash mode which Looking at it more closely seems to have a more wide open aperture as compared to the two other settings. In all lighting conditions the photos came out not too bad. Again, these are toy cameras so one cannot expect much but compared to the Beirette VSN it sure seemed to outshine. I’m going to put another roll through it as well because it’s a fun little camera.

Image
Halina 35: A meal of kale.

Image
Halina 35: Somehow I got a double exposure.

The film and flash will be the same as it was for the first roll I put through these cameras. The flash is a Vivitar Auto 252 which for the Halina works out best as the flash is slender. It’s as if one took their flash and turned it sideways. Because of this the shutter is easily used where as a more normal flash blocked the shutter. [I know because I tried.] As for the film, it’s just cheap PhotoWorks film. I don’t think it’s made anymore and at one point some years back I read were the company seemed to be in a bit of a controversy. Never the less I got thirty rolls of it for next to nothing off eBay and use it for testing. While I have various speeds of it I find I like the 400ASA in my toy cameras and since in a few days I’ll be going away for a week it gives me some time to shoot some more with these two toy cameras and see what I get.

Also the old roll of Kodak film found? Yea, there was nothing on it at all.

Leave a Reply

