Gum Bichromate: Just a Mention

It’s been a long day already of moving Heathers belongings but despite the five hour trip the clouds in the sky were amazing and still are. The weather over all is just amazing and feels really nice outside. I’m going to take some photos mostly of the clouds to later use for some gum bichromate prints. I think the way I like to using this form of printing and its high contrast look should lends itself to amazing cloud prints.

I guess this would be a good transition into talking about gum bichromate but I just do not have the time to do that. Already getting late into the day and I have much more to do along with taking some cloud photos but needless to say it has become one of my most loved ways of printing photographs. It’s so much more than sending a photo off the printers or even to one’s own home printer but a truly hand on process which combined with my film work makes for a truly analog means of photography. I mean modern technology is great but the need to get the picture on film right the first time and then to make a print from it that digital manipulation is not going to fix if a mistake is made to me just feels more like an art form. It’s nice to correct ones mistakes and computers are a great addition but to do everything hands on and be skilled at it just seems more true to what one would call art. Even if I use a digital photograph and make a negative from that the print is still hands on and each print is always different in various ways so each becomes their own thing being perfectly unique. I mean I have to prep my paper, I then have to carefully mix my chemicals to then paint onto the paper to make a light sensitive emulsion and even the painting of the chemicals has to be done in such a way as to make a perfect surface or it’s all worthless. Then the paper is now exposed and I have to carefully wash the paper to make the image come out. With every step if not done with care lends itself to another opportunity to ruin the print making the invested time wasted. Sure I could send my photo off to be professionally printed with each print a perfect replica of the last but what’s the fun in that?

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

