I’m Not Ashamed of my Crop Sensor

SONY DSC

More people with an interest in photography are getting into full frame sensors. Prices have been going down and making it more affordable for the average person and this is great though it doesn’t mean they are cheap, just cheaper. Still, many are slapping down the cash for these cameras and at times the glass to go with them. There are some advantages to it and it seems that maybe there are people feeling they can ride the idea that since they have a full frame sensor it automatically makes their work better. I only base this on those I have spoken with, overheard or the way some talk in online communities and when I look at their work I wonder, “Why did they spend the money?” This doesn’t apply to everybody and I’m not trying to say the photos others take are bad but they aren’t exactly that great either, at least not good enough to justify spending the money they have on the camera they use let alone the glass they got too. It’s their choice though and it’s not like it affects me.

With that said, I myself, am not ashamed that when it comes to digital photography, I shoot on a crop frame sensor. Nothing about this makes me feel bad and I honestly have no intent to make the move to full frame anytime soon. This is not to say that I don’t shoot full frame because I do, at least when I shoot film photography. As I shoot Sony when it comes to digital I can then shoot Minolta film cameras and use the same A-mount lenses. When I do I can see a difference in how things look but to me it’s not that big of a difference and plays little in my work and how I shoot. Sure there’s all sorts of arguments about full frame and what it can do and how it’s better this or that but it’s not all entirely true, especially as the technology advances.

I could go on but I’m not here to rant. Only here to say there is no shame in my mind for not shooting on a full frame sensor and that others should feel the same. If you have the money to spend and you want to go full frame then do it. As for me, I like what I have and don’t need the latest technology in any part of my life, cell phones included.

winking-emoticon-small

Speaking of no shame, I also have no shame in my choice of cameras, that being Sony and Minolta. I also have no shame in my love of focus free cheap film cameras and I have no shame in myself so the photo above is a self-portrait.

Leave a Reply

